Log in

Governance and Leadership


The business and activities of the ABCGA are managed by the Board of Directors.  Each populated stakeholder group within the ABCGA is represented by a director on the board. 

In addition, the chairs of the four working committees sit on the Board as none voting members.


Executive Committee

Darcy Hurlock, Chair

  • Director, Telecommunications
  • ABCGA Board Member since 2014
  • Darcy Hurlock is Operations Manager for the TELUS Cable Locate Support Centre

Matt Cooper, Vice Chair

  • Direction, Road Builders/Heavy Construction
  • Safety Supervisor, Standard General Inc.
Contact: matt.cooper@standardgeneral.ca

Bas Owel, Past Chair

  • ABCGA Board Member since 2011
  • Bas Owel is Vice-President, Operations, Global Training Centre.

Fraser Paterson, Treasurer

  • Director, Oil and Gas Transmission Stakeholder Group
  • ABCGA Board member since 2013
  • Fraser Paterson is Manager of Damage Prevention and Aboriginal Relations at Plains Midstream Canada.

Board of Directors

Dean Battershill – Director, Electrical Transmission/Distribution

Underground Field Resources Manager
Enmax Power Corporation

Contact: dbatters@enmax.com

Gary Mason – Director, Equipment/Material/Services Supply

LineStar Utility Supply (Alberta) Inc.

Contact: gary@linestar.ca

Dwayne Mayr – Training Standard Chair

Auxilium Alliance Corp.

Contact: dwaynem@auxiliumalliance.com

Rashell McManus – Data Evaluating and Reporting Chair

Supervisor OHS
Strathcona County Utilities

Contact: rashell.mcmanus@strathcona.ca

Tim Morrison – Director, Insurance

Director Government Relations
Western Canada
Insurance Bureau of Canada

Contact: tmorrison@ibc.ca

Jeff Mulligan – Director, Training Organizations

Chief Operating Officer
Astec Safety

Contact: jmulligan@astecsafety.com

Shannon Neufeld – Director, Regulators

Damage Prevention Technical Leader
National Energy Board

Contact: shannon.neufeld@neb-one.gc.ca

Randy Palaniuk – Director, Locators

Canadian Association of Pipeline and Utility Locating Contractors

Contact: randyn1@telus.net

Patricia Poulton – Education and Marketing Chair

Community and Aboriginal Relations Liaison

Contact: patricia_poulton@transcanada.com

Ian Ross – Director, Public Works/Municipal

Coordinator, Traffic Signals
Roads, Signals Division
The City of Calgary

Contact: ian.ross@calgary.ca

Iain Stables – Director, Gas Distribution

Supervisor, Damage Prevention

Contact: iain.stables@ATCO.com

Mike Sullivan – Director, One Call

Alberta One-Call Corporation

Contact: msullivan@alberta1call.com

Judy McBride – Director, Damage Prevention Organization

Executive Assistant
Edmonton Area Pipeline and Utility Operators' Committee

Contact: judymcbride@shaw.ca

Andrea Whitwell – Best Practices Chair

Team Leader
Alberta One-Call Corporation

Alberta Common Ground Alliance Administration

Michelle Tetreault – Executive Director

Contact: executivedirector@albertacga.ca

Twila Reberger – Training Standards Administrator

Contact: auditor@albertacga.ca

David Levitt – TSC Administrative Assistant

Hannah MacDonald – Finance Advisor 

Contact: finance@albertacga.ca

Sean Sullivan – Communications Advisor 

Contact: comms@albertacga.ca

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software